A Commentary by the Venerable Master Hsuan Hua

The Shurangama Sutra Contents:

Exhortation to Protect and Propagate


Chapter 1. The Ten Doors of Discrimination
                  The Division and The Vehicle
Chapter 2. The History of the Transmission and Translation 
Chapter 3. The Testimony of Faith 
Chapter 4. Ananda’s Fall 
Chapter 5. The Way to Shamatha 
                  The False Consciousness is Not the Mind
                  The False Consciousness is Without a Substance
Chapter 6. Ananda Repents and Seeks the Truth 


Chapter 1. The Seeing Nature
                  Seeing Does Not Become Extinct
                  Seeing is Not Lost
                  Seeing Does Not Return
                  Seeing Does Not Intermingle
                  Seeing is Not Obstructed
                  Seeing is Not Separate
                  Manjushri Bodhisattva asks a Question
                  Seeing Transcends the Ordinary
                  Seeing is Apart from Seeing
Chapter 2. The Two False Views
Chapter 3. Mixing and Uniting


Chapter 1. False is Just True
Chapter 2. The Five Skandhas
Chapter 3. The Six Entrances
Chapter 4. The Twelve Places
Chapter 5. The Eighteen Realms
Chapter 6. The Seven Elements Are All-Pervasive
Chapter 7. Ananda Gives Rise to Faith


Chapter 1. The Reason for Continual Arisal
Chapter 2. The Reason for Perfect Penetration
Chapter 3. Ananda Attaches to Causes and Conditions
Chapter 4. The Two Decisive Doctrines
                  Liberation of the Organs
Chapter 5. Hearing is Not Sound
Chapter 6. The Source of the Knot


Chapter 1. The Six Knots
Chapter 2. Twenty-five Means to Enlightenment
                  Five Organs
                  Universal Worthy Bodhisattva
                  Guan Shi Yin Bodhisattva
Chapter 3. Manjushri Selects the Organ of Entry


Chapter 1. The Three Non-Outflow Studies
                  Unalterable Instruction on Purity
                  One Must Cut Off Lust
                  One Must Cut Off Killing
                  One Must Cut Off Stealing
                  One Must Cut Off False Speech
Chapter 2. Establishing the Bodhimanda
Chapter 3. The Spiritual Mantra
                  The Shurangama Mantra
Chapter 4. The Two Upside-down Causes
Chapter 5. The Twelve Categories of Living Beings


Chapter 1. The Three Gradual Stages
Chapter 2. The Bodhisattva Stages
                  The Ten Faiths
                  The Ten Dwellings
                  The Ten Conducts
                  The Ten Transferences
                  The Four Positions of Additional Practices
                  The Ten Positions of the Ten Grounds
                  The Position of Equal and Wonderful Enlightenment
Chapter 3. The Names of the Sutra
Chapter 4. The Seven Destinies
                  Destiny of Hells
                  Destiny of Ghosts
                  Destiny of Animals
                  Destiny of People
                  Destiny of Immortals
                  Destiny of Gods
                  Destiny of Asuras


Chapter 1. The Origin of Demonic States
Chapter 2. The Form Skandha
Chapter 3. The Feeling Skandha
Chapter 4. The Thinking Skandha
Chapter 5. The Formations Skandha
Chapter 6. The Consciousness Skandha
Chapter 7. The Concluding Instructions
Chapter 8. The The Arising and Cessation of the Five skandhas
Chapter 9. Exhortation to Propagate the Sutra

Copyright © Buddhist Text Translation Society
Proper Use, Terms, & Conditions

Tripitaka Master Hsuan Hua


Order The Shurangama Sutra with Commentary Online:

BTTS, Volume 1-8

The Fifty Skandha-Demon States